The Newbery Medal


2014 Newbery Winner


2014 Newbery Honors



The Newbery Medal was first presented in 1922. It was created to encourage quality and creative children's literature, and to raise awareness of the importance of children's literature in the eyes of the public. It item1was named after one of the first authors to dedicate his work to children, John Newbery (1713-1767). 

One of the books he wrote for children is A Little Pretty Pocket-Book.

In 1922, the first winner of the Newbery Medal was Hendrik Willem van Loon for his book, The Story of Mankind.

The Newbery Medal can be awarded to any book in English published in the United States that is written by an American author for children. Among the criteria are:

-the text is of the highest quality writing

-the theme is well presented

-the text is accurate and well organized

-the plot, characters, and setting are well developed

-the style is appropriate


The award winner medal is gold, but there may be any number of runners-up awards which are silver in color. Here are some past winners:




Home Reading Awards for Books Newbery Medal

Handy Links

About the Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Winners

Who Was John Newbery?


Some Authors who have won Newbery Medals

Kate DiCamillo

Home Page

Video Interview


Jerry Spinelli

Home Page

Video Interview



Home Page

Video Interview

Lemon Tree Library