The Caldecott Medal


2014 Caldecott Medal Winner

2014 Caldecott Honors


The Caldecott Medal is named for Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886), an English illustrator. RandolphCaldecott


He illustrated several books for children including The Diverting History of John Gilpin.



The medal was first presented in 1938 to illustrator Dorothy P. Lathrop for her work in Animals of the Bible.

This award is presented to an American illustrator of a picture book published in the United States or its territories during last calendar year. The criteria include how well the illustrations:

- are made 

- tell the story

- appeal to children

- help children to better understand the story


The award winner medal is gold, but there may be any number of runners-up awards which are silver in color.

Here are some past winners:



View how the three time Caldecott winner, David Wiesner, creates his books by following the Handy Link.


2002 Caldecott Medal Winner

Home Reading Awards for Books Caldecott Medal

Handy Links


About the Caldecott by American Library Association

List of Caldecott Medal Winners

Who Was Randolph Caldecott?

David Wiesner Video

Lemon Tree Library